My own lil Snack Pack!

20120822-183426.jpg

It’s been almost 6 months since I sat in a classroom and today I was back at it. While sitting in the class, the usual occurred. I was hungry and count focus on anything but what to eat. I had forgotten the most important part of my survival kit: food. I didn’t want to make many unhealthy choices and eating while at school, or even work is often difficult. The vending machines haunt you, the dining hall screams of oil and the surrounding restaurants crave to empty your pockets. So what’s a girl to do? Starving is not an option. And sometimes you just don’t want a bar….

The easy answer is pack a lunch, well if you say that… My response is easy. It’s not going to happen everyday. I’m rushing or too busy or even worse I forget the lunch at home. Therefore, during my undergrad adventure I came up with the idea of a snack pack: the healthy way to munch without a lunch.

This isn’t as simple as grabbing some chips and a soda as you leave the house. Empty calories are a no-no, and I also need something that can stay in my big Barney bag without spoiling or making a mess. I also want it to be healthy and nutritional: a little it of healthy fat, carbs and protein.

Here’s what’s in my snack pack and why:

Almonds

20120822-180522.jpg

This food is very low in Cholesterol and Sodium. It is also a good source of Riboflavin, Magnesium and Manganese, and a very good source of Vitamin E (Alpha Tocopherol). Vitamin E also helps with less cognitive decline as we age. And here’s a piece of random info…. Almonds are nuts, they are actually drupes.

Dry-Roasted Edamame
A quarter-cup serving contains only 130 calories and packs about one-third of your daily recommended fiber intake and 14 g of protein. “It’s high in fiber and protein!

Dried Fruit (Ashley’s pick is cranberries)
Let me be the first to say I was not a fan of dried fruit. But after fruit getting smushed in my bag and ruining books, my computer and everything else, I had enough. But I needed my fruit fix so I tried Dried apples, pears, and more all a no go until I found dried cranberries. Even if you don’t like regular cranberries you’ll like these sweet, semi juicy cousins of the raisin.

Pretzels
Pretzels are one of my fav! It’s great for us bread lovers and also satisfies my chip cravings! This food is low in Saturated Fat, and very low in Cholesterol. It is also a good source of Folate, and a very good source of Manganese.

Dark Chocolate
Here’s a bit of a treat! Dark chocolate has natural stimulants synch as caffeine that can help increase focus and concentration. This is a much needed aspect for being in a class for 3 hours.

Leave a Reply

